Top 5 Tuesday – 5 Books I Must Read in 2019

Top 5 Tuesday is hosted by Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm. Here are the topics for January!

This is such a great year for books and there’s so many that I found it so difficult to narrow down to just 5 books I managed it. I’m still a little sad because I definitely left off some amazing ones.


This has a sea gothic vibe which I’m here for. It’s also a retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses which is a honestly a fairytale I’m not all familiar with but I’ll definitely read up on it before House of Salt and Sorrows releases. AND there’s also been comparisons to Crimson Peak which is one of my favorite gothic movies ever (thanks to Guillermo del Toro).

This is throwing so much at me and I’m just mesmerized by all of it. It’s described as being a mythology-inspired #OwnVoices debut and a post-punk San Francisco fairy tale. This hits the mark for me with the magically weird plot and diversity.

Feminist Lord of the Flies and body horror you say??? Count me in. Also major props to that cover.

This sounds super powerful and very timely since it deals with immigration. I’m loving that YA is going more speculative fiction this year and I cannot wait to read this. Also ANOTHER stunning cover because 2019 is apparently the year that cover designers went OFF.

Described as “The Magicians” meets “Fight Club”. Sounds intriguing and unique AF. I also really like stories with tournaments.

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday – 5 Books I Must Read in 2019

  1. I love this list! I want to read all these books right now! I hadn’t heard of House of Salt and Sorrows, but it’s going straight on my TBR. I’m so excited for Wilder Girls, that’s got to be the cover of the year 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.