Top 5 Tuesday – Upcoming Book Titles

Top 5 Tuesday is hosted by Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm. Here are the topics for December

I’ve reworked this one because I’m currently on the 2019 hype train and there’s so many amazing book titles coming out next year!

Also I’m doing a little bit more than 5 because I couldn’t narrow this down without excluding some absolute gems. 

EDIT: I accidentally posted this last week on the 27th because sleep deprivation probably. Anyways here it is again but posted on the correct date lmao.


With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

This has a gorgeous ring to it. Also this book is about teen chef who is also a mother (a cooking mama if you will), so the title really fits with the cooking theme. 

Also while this is just about the title I do have to give major props to the cover because WOW ITS SO BEAUTIFUL. 

Comics Will Break Your Heart by Faith Erin Hicks

This is actually a quote from the famous Marvel writer Jack Kirby. It’s actually a heartbreaking quote though because he apparently gave this advice to a young artist about comics and has said it frequently. This book of course deals with comics as the main character’s grandfather is a co-creator of a famous comic book series from the 1960’s with a Romeo and Juliet like story. 

These Witches Don’t Burn by Isabel Sterling

There’s something about this title that’s very striking and affirmative. Like “fuck the patriarchy and witch hunts!” I actually thought that this was an Amanda Lovelace book because it sounds like a title she’d come up with. This book sounds very queer BTW so there’s also that! 

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

This is another title that has a powerful vibe to it. One of my most anticipated releases of 2019! This is a speculative fiction novel about queer girls and dismantling the patriarchy! 

Heroine by Mindy McGinnis

I like a good punny title and this one packs a punch. This deal with a softball player who had an injury and is dealing with a drug addiction. 

 The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren

This book just sounds really interesting in general and it has to do with a cult which is a subject I’m maybe a little too weirdly intrigued by. I’m also a huge fan paradoxical titles. 

How to Make Friends with the Dark by Kathleen Glasgow 

And finally there’s this one. Which has hints of loneliness and sadness. Yet another gorgeous title matched with an equally gorgeous cover. 


Thanks for reading! Comment down below some of your favorite titles. Titles that make you think or laugh or whatever emotion you get from a particular title. 

16 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday – Upcoming Book Titles

  1. Love this list! These Witches Don’t Burn is obviously my favorite ❤️ It reminds me of that quote, we are the granddaughters of the witches you couldn’t burn (or something like that). So much witchy girl power! With the Fire on High wins best cover though, it’s stunning 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yesss! That quote is so powerful!

      That one definitely has the best cover. 2019 is the year of amazing covers though. My wallet is going to hate me next year lol

      Like

  2. I love all of these titles!! I saw Heroine in an Instagram story (and immediately wanted to know more) and now I finally know some of the summary. Other than that, these are new to me and I *have* to look them up now. Thanks for this list, and for adding to my 2019 anticipation!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes Heroine has a such an interesting summary. I’ve heard the author’s other book The Female of the Species is really amazing so I’m sure Heroine will be as well. 💜

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.